Reason To Believe

Reason to Believe

My post today is going to be something a bit different. I’m following the Blogging 101 course with WordPress and today’s assignment is to use the Daily Prompt to write a post. So, I’m taking a break from my normal style of post but still sticking with my blog topic. Are you following so far? πŸ™‚

The Daily Prompt is ‘Reason To Believe’.
With this blog I really wanted to keep an upbeat tone in general and to showcase the ‘lighter’ side of autism but this particular prompt spoke to me right away on a deeper level. In this post I am going to write straight from my heart.

There is no getting away from the fact that having autism makes life somewhat more challenging than for the average NT (neurotypical) person. Nobody’s future is especially certain but for a child with autism the outlook is that bit more uncertain. It would be very easy for me as a mother to get weighed down by the worry about my son’s future, and in the past I have done exactly that.

As the years have gone by I have made a conscious choice and effort not to think too hard about the long term future for him. Of course I do think about his future and consider the possibilities and options, it would be foolish not to, but I try not to dwell on all the potential difficulties and barriers ahead. I have also learnt from experience that, in any case, predicting anything about him is a futile business!

I have reason to believe that my son’s future will turn out just fine.

I believe it because it helps me keep strong in the face of adversity.

And I believe it because my son amazes me over and over again.

9 thoughts on “Reason To Believe

  1. Well said, beautifully written. I can feel your pain and I can feel your love. I don’t have children, but I still feel empathy for parents of children who have autism. Luckily, we live in a society where the stigma is less strong and where we all acknowledge our fragilities as human beings, whether we have autism or not. Thank you for writing this.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Speaking as the mother of a 46 year old autist I find you have made a wise choice. My son has found his own way, be it perhaps a little different to the non-autists. He was lucky enough to be able to do a special apprenticeship as a metal worker and has been working as such since his school days in a local factory. He can read, write and even do his own accounts with his money thanks to my husband’s training. His special hobby is pop music and there is very little that he doesn’t know, one of those autistic specialities. He knows a lot of local musicians from various groups and often helps them at the concerts as a sort of “roadie”. They know him and he is popular. An autist always finds his own way. Of course there are problems on the way, but I learnt to deal with them when they happen and not think about what could happen. Good luck to you and your son.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I have reason to believe your blog is worth following. I know precious little about autism. Your blog has a very pure and true purpose. I look forward to becoming more informed and far more sensitive to the challenges and rewards of autism.
    Thank you for your courage to share.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

