Great Autism Quotes

Day two: Write a List  

I was very happy when I saw the assignment for Day Two of this course; write a list? don’t mind if I do! I love lists. From the ever present on my kitchen counter To Do list, to the handwritten lists I keep of all the books I read, my life is full of lists. There is something very satisfying in making lists I find.

WordPress provided participants with a list of topics to choose from for this task but I have decided to go my own way and write a list that fits with the topic of my blog. So, I present to you my list:-

Some of My Favourite Autism Quotes

 

  • “If a child with autism has voluminous knowledge about a single subject, why is that an ‘obsessive interest’ rather than an ‘expertise’?”  ~ Ellen Notbohm

 

  • “Autists are the original square pegs, and the problem with pounding a square peg into a round hole is not that the hammering is hard work, it’s that you’re destroying the peg.”  ~ Paul Collins

 

  • “Different thinking is where progress and invention and discoveries lie.”   ~ Temple Grandin

 

  • “Autistic reality is of no less value or truth than non-Autistic reality.”  ~ Jeanette Purkis

 

  • “Cherish the children marching to the beat of their own music. They play the most beautiful heart songs.”  ~ Fiona Goldsworthy

 

  • “Motherhood is about raising and celebrating the child you have, not the child you thought you’d have. It’s about understanding he is exactly the person he’s supposed to be. And, if you’re lucky, he might be the teacher who turns you into the person you’re supposed to be.”  ~ Joan Ryan, The Water Giver

This last quote from Joan Ryan is not directly about Autism, it’s a reflection of her personal journey with her son and his recovery from a near fatal accident. I find it to be a beautiful quote about the truth of motherhood in general though and it feels particularly poignant to me as a mother of an autistic child. My son has definitely been a teacher to me.

Thank you for reading my list, I hope you can take away something from it.

 

3 thoughts on “Great Autism Quotes

  1. I really enjoy your blog, I like that you view autism similarly to me, many around me don’t, I really appreciate the love you show your children. For these reasons I’ve nominated you for A One Lovely Blog Award

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

