Can’t See the Wood for the Trees?

img_5058

Day Four: A Story in a Single Image

 

For this exercise, use one of the images above as the creative spark for today’s post. You might use it as the setting for a story or poem, write about how it makes you feel, or describe the memory it conjures.

 

I’m finding this assignment a little difficult. In fact, this is the first time that I have started typing a blog post with absolutely no idea of what I am going to say. Using a visual prompt has left me a bit lost. Is the woman in the image lost too I wonder?

Sure I can tell you how the image makes me feel but I don’t think I can make a nice, constructive post about autism out of those feelings. This is going to be a complete free write of my thoughts in response to the image, a spilling onto the page of whatever comes into my head.

It could be that the woman in the image is alone and afraid and she is standing still in the forest paralysed by fear. But that’s not what I feel is happening when I look at the image. I think that this woman is in control of her situation. I feel that she is looking straight ahead of her with purpose and conviction.

I think that she has a journey to make and it might be a difficult one but she can handle it. I feel like she has stopped on the edge of the forest to take stock and mentally prepare herself. She knows where she wants to get to and she knows there will be unexpected obstacles along the way. Some of these obstacles she will be able to simply climb over, some she may have to find a way around and others might make her bang her head against, well a tree I suppose! But she is prepared to take this journey on anyway. She is a little fearful, naturally, but she can talk herself through this fear and stay strong. She knows she can do it. She trusts in herself and her capabilities. She just needs to take a minute before she begins to take a deep breath and prepare herself and then she will set her focus and go for it. And she will find her way through the forest. Of that I am certain.

Well, I don’t know what all of that means, if anything at all. I suspect it’s subconciously some kind of narrative on my own life or maybe it’s the more specific narrative of my journey with my autistic son. I don’t know. Whatever it is, I kind of like what I’ve written. What is your interpretation of either my words above or the image itself? Feel free to comment!

3 thoughts on “Can’t See the Wood for the Trees?

  1. I have a feeling she is searching for something in that vast wildness. The unknown is only scary if you seek control. But I’m a fiction person so reality is not my strength here

    Like

  2. I think you wrote an interesting post, as you write more stories using a photo as a prompt you will find it easier.
    I was wondering how you got the quote to work so well at the top of your post as I couldn’t it to work for me on Day five assignment.
    Happy days writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

