Dear Autism

image

Image by Tim Sackton (CC BY-SA 2.o)

 

Day Eight: Reinvent the Letter format  #EverydayInspiration

 

Dear Autism,

Hey, how are you? I’ve been thinking about you lately so thought I would write you this letter to catch up. Can you believe it’s almost eleven years now since we first met? Actually, it will be my son’s 15th birthday next week which is also hard to believe! But you already know that, right?

Do you remember when we first met?  What were the odds of us meeting? Around 1 in 68 according to some reports but honestly, I don’t think anyone really knows. I certainly wasn’t expecting to meet you that’s for sure. You arrived in my world as a sort of package deal with my son. I never placed an order for you but you were delivered to me anyway. I didn’t even realise that you were there at first but then you started dropping hints. Eventually I couldn’t just ignore the hints and I consulted others “Look, I think there is something” I said “but I can’t quite put my finger on it. Can you see it? Do you know what it is?”. Together we started looking at the clues and working it out and then one day ‘Bingo!’ we worked out that it was you, Autism, and just like that you became a part of our family.

I hope you don’t mind if I’m frank with you here, you were a shock to me at first and I didn’t much feel like welcoming you. In fact I resented you coming in to our life uninvited and turning my world upside down (or so it felt at the time). Honestly,  if I could have packaged you up and stuck a ‘Return to Sender’ label on you, I would have.

Looking back now I can appreciate that I didn’t know you at all in the beginning, when we first met. I judged you and made assumptions about you based on ignorance and fear (sorry about that!). I didn’t really want to have to acknowledge your existence but what option did I have? You weren’t going anywhere and I was forced to get to know you.

As I write this there’s a German proverb that comes to mind ‘Fear makes the wolf bigger than he is.’ That’s pretty apt I think, don’t you?  I can laugh with you now, now that we’re friends. It turns out that you aren’t the big bad frightening wolf I thought you were.

We’ve come a long way together haven’t we? I won’t pretend it’s all been a hoot, it hasn’t; you have frightened me, frustrated me, confronted me and made me cry more times than I care to remember. But we got there in the end didn’t we?  You have also been an amazing teacher, opening my eyes to so many new things and you have made me a stronger person than I ever would have been if I hadn’t met you. And through you I’ve met so many other wonderful people too.

But most of all, because of you I have a uniquely amazing and precious son. For that reason we’ve become good friends over the years, you and me. I know you know how much I understand you and respect you now, but I’m sure you won’t mind me mentioning it again to you now.

Well, I expect you are busy at the moment, I know I am, so I’ll send you my regards and say I’ll see you soon!

P.S. I hope you don’t mind, I’ve been talking about you to some other people I know, I just thought it might be good if they get to know you too. No pressure though!   

 

Leave a Reply

