“Give Me My Challenge”

Another weekend, another coffee. How have you been since our last chat?

For my part, I’m still reading the book that I talked about in my last post so no follow up post about that just yet. In the  meantime I had a further idea. Story telling is a very powerful way of communicating and when it comes to autism, personal stories can give a lot of insight and are a great way of spreading understanding. I listen to a lot of podcasts and from time to time stories about autism turn up on them. I thought it would be a good idea to post some of these podcast stories here on my blog in between the book posts I plan to make.

Today I’d like to share with you  ‘The Boy Who Made Waves’ by Joe Blair. (This link (below) is from WYNC Snap Judgement podacst Episode #803 ‘Run For It’.) Joe is the father of four children, one of whom has autism. This particular story of his about his autistic son is so beautifully written and is full of honesty, truth, tenderness and compassion.

To me this story speaks of the deep intuition and creativity involved in parenting an autistic child and also of the wonder of it. All of us are unique indiviuals, but autism sort of adds an extra layer to that uniqueness. Joe Blair describes his son as “The source of joy and of concern…” which of course is the case with any child, but particularly so an autistic one.

This is one story, of one autistic child and one family. There are countless others and every one will be unique. I hope you enjoy listening to this one as much as I did.

“He will make the world understandable in his way.” – Joe Blair

Leave a Reply

